Music & Performance

Performance of Charles Gaines's Manifestos Scores

  • to This is a past program

Charles Gaines’s ambitious multimedia installation Manifestos translates four 20th-century revolutionary manifestos into music, using a system inspired by the methods of avant-garde composers like John Cage. Composer-arranger Sean Griffin will conduct a six-piece ensemble (string quartet plus piano and harp) in the first live performance of this evocative music.

In conjunction with the exhibition All of this and nothing.

Additional support provided by CalArts, School of Art.

Public programs are made possible by Hammer Members and the generosity of Bronya and Andrew Galef, Good Works Foundation and Laura Donnelley, and an anonymous donor.