Mohn Awards

Made in L.A. 2018 Awards

Funded through the generosity of Los Angeles philanthropists and art collectors Jarl and Pamela Mohn, the Mohn Award ($100,000) and the Career Achievement Award ($25,000) will be selected by a professional jury, and the Public Recognition Award ($25,000) will be determined through a public vote. All the artists in the exhibition are eligible to receive the awards. 


The Hammer Museum announced that artist Lauren Halsey will receive the $100,000 Mohn Award honoring artistic excellence. As part of the Mohn Award, the museum will also produce a monograph of Halsey’s work. Additionally, Daniel Joseph Martinez will receive the Career Achievement Award honoring brilliance and resilience; and EJ Hill will receive the Public Recognition Award, as chosen by visitors to the Made in L.A. 2018 exhibition. Both artists will receive $25,000. Read more on our blog.

Mohn Award

Jury award honoring artistic excellence 

The $100,000 Mohn Award will be granted over two years to an artist from the exhibition and includes a monograph of the artist’s work. A professional jury of three curators will select the artist whose presentation of work in Made in L.A. 2018 stands out as exceptional. 

Career Achievement Award

Jury award honoring brilliance and resilience 

This $25,000 award will be given to one artist in the exhibition who has made a significant contribution to contemporary art throughout that artist’s career. 

Public Recognition Award

Awarded by public vote 

Visitors to Made in L.A. 2018 will choose the recipient of the $25,000 Public Recognition Award by voting for their favorite artist in the exhibition. Visitors vote on-site at kiosks located throughout the museum. Voting for the Public Recognition Award closes Sunday, August 19.

In 2016 dancer Adam Linder, who choreographed and performed Kein Paradiso, received the Mohn Award; Wadado Leo Smith received the Career Achievement Award; and Kenzi Shiokava received the Public Recognition Award. In 2014 Alice Könitz received the Mohn Award, and Meleko Mokgosi received it in 2012.