KCHUNG Radio Studio,

KCHUNG RADIO

The Hammer Museum is pleased to welcome Public Engagement artist-in-residence KCHUNG Radio. Established in 2011, KCHUNG is a creative hub of artists, musicians, philosophers, and tinkerers broadcasting live on 1630AM from a studio above a pho restaurant in Los Angeles’s Chinatown. The radio station currently airs 74 live, original shows each month, including reports on wildlife conservation, on-air meditation, gestures of an economic and performative nature, as well as music. While in residence at the Hammer through the end of the year, KCHUNG presents the station’s regular programing on-site as well as new programs developed for the museum. Visitors can look forward to projects such as audio tours composed by KCHUNG and remixes of past Hammer programs.

View KCHUNG Calendar Here.

Hammer Staff Radio Hour

October 11 through December 6th

KCHUNG DJs work alongside Hammer staff members to create original live broadcasts on Fridays from 1-2pm.

Friday, October 11, 1pm
Friday, October 18, 1pm
Friday, October 25, 1pm
Friday, November 1, 1pm
Friday, November 8, 1pm
Friday, November 15, 1pm
Friday, November 18, 1pm 
Friday, November 22, 1pm  
Friday, December 6, 1pm
Friday, December 13, 1pm

Lunchtime Disco

Tuesdays at 12:30, October & November

Every Tuesday in October and November, a different KCHUNG DJ plays dance music in the Hammer lobby. Visitors are invited to listen—and of course even dance—to the set during their reprieve from work. Check the Hammer calendar for this week's LtD DJ.

Tuesday Oct 1, 12:30pm
Tuesday Oct 8, 12:30pm
Tuesday Oct 15, 12:30pm
Tuesday Oct 22, 12:30pm
Tuesday Oct 29, 12:30pm
Tuesday Nov 5, 12:30pm
Tuesday Nov 12, 12:30pm
Tuesday Nov 19, 12:30pm
Tuesday Nov 26, 12:30pm

 

Live Broadcasts

September 17 – November 23


Throughout the residency, DJs will broadcast live from the KCHUNG Mobile DJ Cart in the courtyard from 6:30 to 7:30 before select Hammer Public Programs.

KCHUNG regular programming will broadcast live from the KCHUNG Mobile DJ Cart every Saturday in October and November. Visitors are encouraged to check out a radio or listen in on headphones attached to the KCHUNG Cart.

Tuesday, September 17, 6:30pm
Thursday, September 19, 6:30pm
Wednesday, September 25, 6:30pm
Thursday, October 3, 6:30pm
Saturday, October 12, 11:30am
Saturday, October 19, 11:30am
Wednesday, October 23, 6:30pm
Saturday, October 26, 11:30am
Tuesday, October 29, 6:30pm
Wednesday, October 30, 6:30pm
Saturday, November 2, 11:30am
Tuesday, November 5, 6:30pm
Thursday, November 7, 6:30pm
Saturday, November 9, 11:30am
Wednesday, November 13, 6:30pm
Thursday, November 14, 6:00pm
Saturday, November 16, 11:30am
Thursday, November 21, 6:30pm
Saturday, November 23, 11:30am
 

KCHUNG Mystery Play

Saturday, December 7, 1:00pm

In the spirit of old-time radio, KCHUNG presents a mystery play about a museum not unlike the Hammer. The play will be broadcast through a series of micropower transmitters placed in different locations around the museum and voiced by Hammer staff.

Part of the curatorial department, the Public Engagement program collaborates with artists to develop and present works that create an exchange with the institution and with visitors. Enacted both inside and outside the galleries, Public Engagement projects range from re-envisioned security guard uniforms to library and orchestra residencies. The Hammer Museum's Public Engagement program is supported, in part, by the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors through the Los Angeles County Arts Commission.