The Next-Gen City

  • This is a past program
The Next-Gen City
11/14/2013---A panel of mayors and nationally renowned designers, architects, landscape architects, and urban designers gather to present their work and discuss it in relation to the challenges and opportunities presented by the American city today, which faces the need to regenerate itself in the wake of dramatic demographic and technological changes worldwide (Run time: 1 hr 31 mins).

A panel of mayors and nationally renowned designers—architects, landscape architects, and urban designers—gather to present their work and discuss it in relation to the challenges and opportunities presented by the American city today, which faces the need to regenerate itself in the wake of dramatic demographic and technological changes worldwide.

In conjunction with ArtsReSTORE LA: Westwood.


View photos from the event here.


Roger Sherman, cityLAB. Roger Sherman is principal of Roger Sherman Architecture and Urban Design, an adjunct associate professor in UCLA’s Department of Architecture and Urban Design, and co-Director of cityLAB at UCLA.

Dana Cuff, cityLAB. Dana Cuff is a Professor in UCLA’s Department of Architecture and Urban Design, Director of cityLAB at UCLA, and an author on topics including affordable housing, modernism, suburban studies, the politics of place, and the spatial implications of new computer technologies.


Honorable Mayor Robert Cashell of Reno, NV. Robert Cashell is serving his third term as mayor of Reno, Nevada, having served in public office as the Lieutenant Governor for the State of Nevada in 1982 and Chairman for the University of Nevada Board of Regents in 1979.

Honorable Mayor Osby Davis of Vallejo, CA. Mayor Osby Davis enjoyed a 14-year career as the first African-American supervisor of Solano County, prior to becoming the first African-American mayor of Vallejo in 2007.

Honorable Mayor Julie Manning of Corvallis, OR. Elected as mayor in 2010, Julie Manning has also enjoyed a career in journalism and currently serves as the Vice President for Development, Marketing, and Public Relations for Samaritan Health Services, a regional health system based in Corvallis, Oregon.

Honorable Mayor Jackie Meck of Buckeye, AZ. Mayor Jackie Meck, a Buckeye native and former General Manager of the Buckeye Water Conservation and Drainage District, is serving his second mayoral term in addition to holding appointments on many municipal boards and committees.

Honorable Mayor Jon Nehring of Marysville, WA. Mayor Jon Nehring has been a resident of Marysville, WA for more than 20 years, has a background in business administration, and has served as the city’s mayor since November 2011.

Honorable Mayor Deborah Robertson of Rialto, CA. Deborah Robertson was elected Mayor of Rialto in November 2012 – the latest achievement in a distinguished public service career that has included 12 years on the Rialto City Council, leadership positions at the Southern California Association of Governments, the San Bernardino Associated Governments, and more than 20 years with the California Department of Transportation.

Chief Executive Matt Vincent of Butte-Silver Bow, MT. Raised in Butte-Silver Bow, Matt Vincent directs the Clark Fork Watershed Education Program at Montana Tech and has served as the city’s Chief Executive since 2012, following a career with the Butte-Silver Bow Health and Planning Departments and The Montana Standard newspaper.

The Mayors' Institute on City Design is a leadership initiative of the National Endowment for the Arts in partnership with the United States Conference of Mayors and the American Architectural Foundation with support from United Technologies Corporation.

Design Professionals

Barbara Bestor. Barbara Bestor, AIA is Principal of Bestor Architecture and the founding chair of the Graduate program at Woodbury University’s School of Architecture and is now the executive director of the University’s Julius Shulman Institute.

Jane Blumenfeld
. Jane Blumenfeld spent 32 years as a professional urban planner in Los Angeles, including service as the Acting Deputy Director of the Los Angeles Department of City Planning and head of its Citywide Planning Division, Planning Advisor to the late Mayor Tom Bradley, and Chief of Staff to former Los Angeles City Councilman Mike Feuer.

Edwin Chan
. In addition to teaching and lecturing internationally, Edwin Chan recently launched his own architecture practice EC3 in 2012, following more than 25 years as Design Partner with Frank O. Gehry and Associates in Los Angeles.

Julia Czerniak. Julia Czerniak is a Professor of Architecture at Syracuse University where she teaches architectural studios as well as seminars on landscape theory and criticism.

Darren Petrucci. Darren Petrucci is the founder and principal of A-I-R [Architecture-Infrastructure-Research] Inc., in addition to teaching at The Design School at Arizona State University where he runs an applied research lab: SCAPE (Systems Components Architectural Products + Environments).

Paul Silvern. Paul is the Partner-in-Charge of the Los Angeles area office of HR&A Advisors, and specializes in economic impact, fiscal impact, financial feasibility and other real estate advisory services.

Marc Tsurumaki. Marc Tsurumaki is a principal of LTL Architects and an Adjunct Assistant Professor at Columbia University's GSAPP, and has taught at Parsons The New School for Design, M.I.T., Syracuse University, Cornell University and Yale University as the Louis I. Kahn Visiting Professor.

Peter Zellner. Peter Zellner, Associate AIA / RAIA Affiliate, is the Principal and Founder of ZELLNERPLUS, bringing over 20 years of experience in building and interior design as well as planning and project management to the firm.

The AHGSA Symposium is funded by the UCLA Department of Art History, UCLA Council on Arts and Architecture, UCLA Friends of Art History, and the UCLA Graduate Students Association.

All Hammer public programs are free and made possible by a major gift from the Dream Fund at UCLA.

Generous support is also provided by Susan Bay Nimoy and Leonard Nimoy, the Simms/Mann Family Foundation, The Brotman Foundation of California, Good Works Foundation and Laura Donnelley, and all Hammer members.