City of Joy

City of Joy, with Q&A

Tuesday Feb 12, 2019 7:30 PM This is a past program

This video is also posted on YouTube where you can access captions and a full transcript.

This film tells the story of Congolese women’s fierce will to turn their pain into power, and the visionaries who came together to create a transformational community. In a region besieged by an economic war and rampant sexual violence, 2018 Nobel Prize winner Dr. Denis Mukwege, women’s rights activist Christine Schuler-Deschryver, and radical feminist Eve Ensler imagined a place where women who’ve been sexually brutalized can heal themselves. (2016, dir. Madeleine Gavin, 74 min.)

A Q&A with Schuler-Deschryver and Ensler follows, moderated by women's rights leader Kimberlé Crenshaw

Official trailer for 'City of Joy' (2018)


Ticketing: Free tickets are required and available at the Box Office one hour before the program. One ticket per person; first come, first served. 
Member Benefit: Members receive priority ticketing until 15 minutes before the program. Learn more about membership.
Parking is available under the museum. Rates are $7 for the first three hours with museum validation, and $3 for each additional 20 minutes, with a $20 daily maximum. There is a $7 flat rate after 6 p.m. on weekdays, and all day on weekends. Cash only.
Restaurant: Enjoy a meal or drink before or after the program at our restaurant Audrey. Members and UCLA students receive 10% off. A late-night happy hour offers 10% off at the bar Tuesday–Saturday, 9–11 p.m.


Read our food, bag check, and photo policies.

♿ Accessibility information

All Hammer public programs are free and made possible by a major gift from an anonymous donor.

Generous support is also provided by Susan Bay Nimoy and Leonard Nimoy, Good Works Foundation and Laura Donnelley, The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, an anonymous donor, and all Hammer members.

Public programs advancing social justice are presented by the Ford Foundation.

Digital presentation of Hammer public programs is made possible by the Billy and Audrey L. Wilder Foundation.