UCLA Award-Winning Student Poets 2016

Thursday Jun 2, 2016 7:30 PM This is a past program

For over a decade, Hammer’s Poetry Series has concluded its annual offerings for the academic year with a reading by a stellar group of up-and-coming writers who have won awards for competitions sponsored by the Department of English or by a statewide consortium of universities. Tonight you will experience just why this group of UCLA-educated poets has garnered praise. Please enjoy this new wave of literary talent in action, and join our tradition of welcoming their unique voices into the world. Hammer’s Poetry Series is organized and hosted by the poet, literary critic, and UCLA professor Stephen Yenser. 

The UCLA Department of English is pleased to announce the current and recent winners of these creative writing competitions in poetry:

Fred and Edith Herman Memorial Prize from the Academy of American Poets
Dylan Karlsson

May Merrill Miller Award
Sophie Eden

Shirle Dorothy Collins Award in Poetry, 2015
Jeremy Schmidt, current Ph.D. candidate, UCLA 

Past Winner of the Falling Leaves Scholarship and other awards at UCLA
Stefan Karlsson, current MFA candidate, UC Irvine

Complimentary coffee and tea served.

Copresented with and supported in part by the UCLA Department of English and Friends of English. 

All Hammer public programs are free and made possible by a major gift from an anonymous donor.

Generous support is also provided by Susan Bay Nimoy and Leonard Nimoy, Good Works Foundation and Laura Donnelley, an anonymous donor, The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, and all Hammer members.

The Hammer’s digital presentation of its public programs is made possible by the Billy and Audrey L. Wilder Foundation.